Our Portugeuse Portal

A short post today, probably mostly filled with pictures. I wrote for almost two hours on a very descriptive and extensive post about our experience at the last farm we were at, near Penamacor, Portugal, only to have my wordpress app somehow lose it all after I posted it.
I’m not going to try to rewrite it, but instead hit my key points and include my pictures, something you all might prefer over everlasting words anyhow.

image
A decently encompassing view of the farm structures

A working goat farm run by a man named Fernando. 80 hectares amidst protected land (Serra de Malcatta) that has been in his family for hundreds of years.  He maintains three of the structures on site that are dated between the 12th and 17th centuries. He also chooses to live as they did.

image
Clean, clean water

The man lives incredibly simply. He burns a fire in his kitchen, on the floor and has no ventilation for the smoke. He cooks over this fire. This is apparently the way his midevil ancestors lived and is the way he wishes his descendents to.

image
Dirt, stone, and smoke

He eats mostly starch: high gluten bread, potatoes, and rice. As I don’t consume these things, I ate mostly onion. Luckily his goats are plentiful producers of milk and I was able to have the freshest cheese I’ve ever, and probably will ever have.

image

Our days consisted, mostly, of walking goats. They eat only grass and walk freely for at least 8 hours a day.

image

With 125 females and 5 males, it was a job to keep up with them all.  Mostly, however, the goats walk you, not vice versa.

image

I had an off day while on the farm and walked the 6 miles to town to explore Penamacor and its history.

image
Entrance to town

image

image
From the top of town
image
The keep, from the years when the town was a royal safeguard
image
Sunset from a park in town

I found that my time at Fernando’s farm was very special. I learned so much, about what I love and what I would never do.
For instance, his way of living. He indeed has the choice to use some of the advances that the human mind has come up with. But he chooses to stay behind and breathe the smoke, eat the peasant food with such little nutritional quality though he has ample garden space, and not save goats that have infected udders or weak disposition because, “nature is cruel”.
He believes that the old way is the only way, and I believe I should never become so attached to ideas that I neglect opportunities presented to me.

image
Friendly buddies
image
A little rest as the goats graze
image
Perhaps 1300 ad? Perhaps 1800.

What I am coming away with, every day more and more, is that we all have a purpose. Perhaps Fernando’s is indeed to live the way he does and make his cheese and host travelers.
What I know is that we all should find what we love most and do it, do it frequently.
If you are fortunate enough to be currently spending as much time doing what you love as doing what you’re told you should, plesse, please, shine some light for the rest of us on how you got there 🙂

image
Fernando's pantry

Headed south and may stay there with the Lagos’s predicted weather.

Please drop a line if you will.

follow me on instaham at whearn0624 and mi amigo Kenny at klnapper

2 thoughts on “Our Portugeuse Portal

  1. Will, Leigh and I are really enjoying your writing and pics…keep it coming…you describe it all very well…we watched the movie “Wild” last night for the 2nd time and read the book too…a story you will appreciate….embrace your journey….as I tell myself almost daily, embrace the day, for I may never walk this way again. Sending our love and good energy !

    Don Sealy REALTOR®

    Scenic Sotheby’s International Realty 3305 West County Highway 30A | Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459 c 850.368.6311 | f 850.231.5042 don.scenicsir.com Notice of confidentiality: This transmission contains information that may be confidential and that may also be proprietary; unless you are the intended recipient of the message (or authorized to receive it for the intended recipient), you may not copy, forward, or otherwise use it, or disclose its contents to anyone else. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify us immediately and delete it from your system.

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

